Vaccine Deployment Minister opens Medilink 2021 Awards

Nadhim Zahawi MP, Minister for COVID Vaccine Deployment, opened the Medilink North of England 2021 Healthcare Business Awards earlier today.

The Minister praised the NHS, academia and industry across the North for their crucial work undertaken during the pandemic and vaccine roll-out.

The awards saw a huge number of competitive applications across the eight categories and was preceded by an interesting panel discussion on the Future of Healthcare, which included:

Lisa Hollins, Director of Innovation, NHSX

Steve Bagshaw, former chairman and CEO, FujiFilm Diosynth Biotechnologies & Industry Advisor to the Vaccine Task Force

Chris Yates, Chief Executive, Abingdon Health

Richard Jones, Chair – Materials Physics and Innovation Policy, University of Manchester

Richard Stubbs, Vice-Chair, AHSN Network & CEO, Yorkshire & Humber AHSN

The award category winners were:

Start Up Award – Lunac Therapeutics

Innovation Award – Abingdon Health

Export Achievement Award – Ethoss Regeneration

Partnership with the NHS: Advances in Digital Healthcare – Mastercall Healthcare

Partnership with the NHS: Acute Care Award – inhealthcare

Partnership with the NHS: Primary Care Award – PCMIS Health Technologies

Partnership with Academia Award – AI Rehab with the University of Central Lancashire

Outstanding Achievement Award – Bluetree Group

Commenting on the event, Kevin Kiely, CEO, Medilink North of England, said “Huge congratulations to the winners and shortlisted organisations that have all demonstrated their ability to do extraordinary things when faced with unprecedented challenges of a global pandemic. A key take home message from the Minister and from the panellists discussing the ‘Future of Healthcare’, was the need to maintain the unique level of collaboration and partnership working that had accelerated our Covid-19 response. This a ‘once in a lifetime’ challenge which we should all embrace”.

Congratulations to all those shortlisted and of course the winners!